Skip to Navigation
 
University Catalog
    Western Washington University
   
 
  Jul 24, 2017
 
 
    
Skip Navigation
2014-2015 Catalog [ARCHIVED CATALOG]

Music - Performance Concentration, BMus


Return to: Programs of Study

Department of Music, College of Fine and Performing Arts

117-122 credits

Introduction

In addition to a core set of courses in Music Theory and History, students in the performance degree program will receive comprehensive instruction on their Primary Instrument/Voice.

The Bachelor of Music (BMus) degree is the professional undergraduate degree program in music. It is an expanded program which requires a student to undertake a course of study of a minimum of 192 undergraduate credits.

Why Consider a Concentration in Music Performance Major?

If your ultimate career goal is to be a performer in a professional orchestra or opera company or if you aspire to teach private lessons at the college level, the Bachelor of Music in Performance is the degree program for you.

 Contact Information

Undergraduate Academic Advisor
Alexis Tahiri
Performing Arts 263
360-650-4091
Alexis.Tahiri@wwu.edu

Brass Coordinator
Gustavo Camacho
Performing Arts 271
Gustavo.Camacho@wwu.edu

Guitar Coordinator
David Feingold
Performing Arts 271
David.Feingold@wwu.edu

Percussion Coordinator
Patrick Roulet
Performing Arts 223
Patrick.Roulet@wwu.edu

Piano Coordinator
Milica Jeleca Jovanovic
Performing Arts 17
Milica.Jelacajovanovic@wwu.edu

String Coordinator
Walter Schwede
Performing Arts 139
Walter.Schwede@wwu.edu

Vocal Coordinator
Leslie Gueler-Cone
Performing Arts 043
Leslie.Guelker-Cone@wwu.edu

Woodwind Coordinator
Eugene Zoro
Performing Arts 145
Gene.Zoro@wwu.edu

 

 Sample Careers

University/College Professor | Studio Musician | Orchestra Musician | Arts Administrator/Manager | Member of Professional Opera | Church Music Director | Voice/Instrument Teacher

 Major/Career Resources

http://www.wwu.edu/careers/students_choosingamajor.shtml

Admission and Declaration Process

Pre-major: Available. Auditioned, approved entering freshmen will be declared as Music pre-majors until the student has passed a performance level jury. At this time the student may formally declare the Performance Major.

Admissions: The prerequisite for all Music degrees is the entrance audition on the primary instrument/voice. Entrance by performance audition — student must expect to achieve upper-division applied instruction by the sophomore year

Application Deadline: The audition must be complete prior to the quarter in which the student intends to enroll. The audition deadline for each fall quarter is the end of the previous May. Due to the sequential nature of the music curriculum, midyear applications are not recommended. Students seeking admission to the program other than fall quarter will be required to meet prerequisites in all course sequences (MUS 121/122 through 225/226; 341 through 343; and 351 through 354) as a condition of admission.

Grade Requirements

A grade of C- or better is required for a student’s major or minor courses, and supporting courses for majors and minors.

Requirements


Return to: Programs of Study