Jan 30, 2023  
2022-23 Western Washington University Catalog 
    
2022-23 Western Washington University Catalog

Women, Gender, and Sexuality Studies


Return to {$returnto_text} Return to: Departments

Women, Gender, and Sexuality Studies

chss.wwu.edu/wgss

The Women, Gender, and Sexuality Studies program pursues praxis and critical inquiry through feminist and queer scholarship by teaching and activism that makes sense of how gender impacts our world and shapes social, political, and cultural formations. We are dedicated to teaching undergraduate majors and minors to use critical thinking to bridge feminist theories and social justice practice. Our program foregrounds interdisciplinary analyses of feminism, gender, sexuality, race, ethnicity, and queer studies in transnational and multicultural contexts. The program prepares students to pursue graduate school, law, social service, counseling, public policy, health care, teaching, social activism, and the arts.

Students who wish to declare a minor or major in Women, Gender, and Sexuality Studies should contact Professor Rae Lynn Schwartz-DuPre, Communications Facility 283, schwarr5@wwu.edu. You can also meet with WGSS Program Coordinator Dylan Gibson in Miller Hall 223, gibsond6@wwu.edu, 360-650-7779. Declarations may also be submitted online to Professor Schwartz-Dupre or Dylan Gibson: Major Declaration, Minor Declaration.

Affiliated Faculty

KRISTIN ANDERSON, Sociology. Gender and society, the family in society, domestic violence and the criminal justice system. Kristin.Anderson@wwu.edu
DHARITRI BHATTACHARJEE, South Asian History, Indian Ocean World, Empire, Colonialism, Decolonization. bhattad@wwu.edu 
BIDISHA BISWAS, Political Science. Diaspora politics, international relations, ethnic and civic conflicts, terrorism. Bidisha.Biswas@wwu.edu
CHRISTINA BYRNE, Psychology. Interpersonal violence and psychological trauma. Christina.Byrne@wwu.edu
JOSH CERRETTI, History. Feminist and queer theory, militarism and war, historical approaches to race, gender, and sexuality. Josh.Cerretti@wwu.edu
ELIZABETH COLEN, English. Hybrid genres, experimental writing, ecopoetics, and literary collage. Elizabeth.Colen@wwu.edu
SUSAN COSTANZO, History. Russian women’s history and culture. Susan.Costanzo@wwu.edu
RITA DANIELS, Communication Studies. African womanism, women and gender studies, intersectionality, women organizing and organizations, decolonization, intergroup communication, and mixed research methods. danielr7@wwu.edu
SHIRIN DEYLAMI, Political Science. Feminist and queer theory; post-colonial and Islamic thought; and gender and Islam. Shirin.Deylami@wwu.edu
ROBYN DAHL, Geology. dahlr4@wwu.edu
RAINE DOZIER, Health & Community Studies. Gender theory; sociology; social and economic inequality. Raine.Dozier@wwu.edu
JULIE DUGGER, English. Women writers, gender and genre, the romance novel. Julie.Dugger@wwu.edu
MARIE EATON, Fairhaven College. Lesbian/gay/bisexual/transgendered issues in education. Marie.Eaton@wwu.edu
NADA ELIA, Arab and Muslim American Studies. elian@wwu.edu
LENA ERICKSEN, Psychology. Gender issues. Lena.Ericksen@wwu.edu
MARY ERICKSON, Communication Studies. Critical media studies, gender, film/TV/internet, media industries. Mary.Erickson@wwu.edu
AMANDA EURICH, History. Gender, sexuality, and religion in early modern Europe. Amanda.Eurich@wwu.edu
BARBARA FARRAND, Psychology. Gender issues, learning and cognitive development, adolescent development. Barbara.Farrand@wwu.edu
ANGELA FILLINGIM, Sociology. Human rights, immigration, international law, Latin America, race, and policical sociology. Angela.Fillingim@wwu.edu
JENNY FORSYTHE, English. Jenny.Forsythe@wwu.edu
ALLISON GIFFEN, English. Early 19th century American women writers and American women poets. Allison.Giffen@wwu.edu
CAROL GUESS, English. Queer Studies, Creative Writing. Carol.Guess@wwu.edu
PAM HARDMAN, English. Women’s literature, cultural studies, medical institutions’ treatment of women. Pam.Harden@wwu.edu
NINI HAYES, Environmental Studies. Critical education theory, environmental education, and social justice. Nini.Hayes@wwu.edu
VICKI HSUEH, Political Science. Feminist political theory, political participation and gender, post-colonialism, ethnicity, and race. Vicki.Hsueh@wwu.edu
MARY HUNT, Public Health. Gender and sexual and reproductive health, particularly abortion. huntm8@wwu.edu
MELINA JUAREZ PEREZ, Political Science and WGSS. Immigration, Latinex politics, race, gender, and sexuality. Melina.Juarez@wwu.edu
LAURA LAFFRADO, English. Early U.S. literature and culture, U.S. women’s writing, women’s autobiographical writing. news.wwu.edu/go/doc/1538/266053/ Laura.Laffrado@wwu.edu
ANNE LOBECK, English. Language and gender. myweb.facstaff.wwu.edu/annelob/ Anne.Lobeck@wwu.edu
JEN LOIS, Sociology. Social psychology, emotions, gender, qualitative methods. www.wwu.edu/soc/bios/lois.shtml Jennifer.Lois@wwu.edu
BAOZHEN LUO, Sociology. Family and life course, social gerontology, Asian/Asian American. Baozhen.Luo@wwu.edu
KELLY MAGEE, English. Creative Writing, lesbian/gay/bisexual/transgendered studies. Kelly.Magee@wwu.edu
LORI MARTINDALE, Honors and WGSS. Gender studies, film and media studies, philosophy and literature, feminist theory, writing about literature. Lori.Martindale@wwu.edu 
BARBARA MILLER, Art History. Feminist art theory, contemporary women artists, and the representation of gender in modern and contemporary visual culture. Barbara.Miller@wwu.edu
CAROLYN NIELSEN, Journalism. Diversity, mass media and social change as it relates to women’s lives. Carolyn.Nielsen@wwu.edu
NANCY PAGH, English. Gender and Pacific Northwest regional studies, women and environments, women and space. Nancy.Pagh@wwu.edu
SUZANNE PAOLA, English. Creative writing, women and literature. Suzanne.Paola@wwu.edu
RACHEL PAUL, Political Science. Women and politics. Rachel.Paul@wwu.edu
TRACEY PYSCHER, Secondary Education. Social and cultural experiences of children and youth with histories of DV; school, critical literacy and learning, and praxis. Tracey.Psycher@wwu.edu
LYSA RIVERA, English. Chicano/a and African American literature and culture, science fiction, literature and cultura. Lysa.Rivera@wwu.edu
DEBRA J. SALAZAR, Political Science. Queer politics, social justice, social change, women and environmental politics. myweb.facstaff.wwu.edu/~salazard/ Debra.Salazar@wwu.edu
RAE LYNN A. SCHWARTZ-DUPRE, Communication. Rhetoric, mass media and postcolonial communication. RaeLynn.Schwartz-DuPre@wwu.edu
ELY SHIPLEY, English. shiplej@wwu.edu
MICHAEL SLOUBER, Global Humanities and Religions. South Asia history and culture, gender and sexuality. Michael.Slouber@wwu.edu
TAMARA SPIRA, Fairhaven/American Cultural Studies. Transnational, de-colonial, and critical race feminist theories and praxis; queer of color and transnational sexuality studies and feminist critiques of militarism, prisons, and empires. Tamara.Spira@wwu.edu
ANIKA TILLAND-STAFFORD, WGSS. Queer & feminist theory and methods, critical childhood studies, colonialism and North American history. Anika.Tilland-Stafford@wwu.edu
MIDORI TAKAGI, Fairhaven College. Race, class and gender, comparative studies of women of color. Midori.Takagi@wwu.edu
SHURLA THIBOU, Women, Gender, and Sexuality Studies. Introduction to Women Studies, women and globalization. Shurla.Thibou@wwu.edu
KATE TRUEBLOOD, English. Women and literature, creative writing. Kathryn.Trueblood@wwu.edu
CHRIS VARGAS, Art. Time-based art, queer radicalism, transgender history, and imperfect role models. Chris.Vargas@wwu.edu
VERONICA N. VELEZ, Education and Social Justice/Woodring and Fairhaven. Critical race theory and Latina.o critical theory in education, Chicana feminist epistemologies, politics of parent engagement in educational reform, particularly for Latina/o (im)migrant families, and participatory action and community-based modeals of research. Veronica.Velez@wwu.edu
THERESA WARBURTON, English. Contemporary women’s literature, Native literature, women of color and indigenous feminisms, feminist theory, anarchist studies, social justice. Theresa.Warburton@wwu.edu
SARA WEIR, Political Science. Social and health policy, women and politics, feminist political theory. chss.wwu.edu/political-science/political-science-faculty-sara-weir Sara.Weir@wwu.edu
CAMERON WHITELY, Sociology. whitlec@wwu.edu
CHRISTOPHER WISE, International Studies. Colonization/Post colonization and expected gender roles. Christopher.Wise@wwu.edu
JANE WONG, English. Creative writing, women of color in the literary arts, Asian American studies, digital humanities. Jane.Wong@wwu.edu
GREG YOUMANS, English. Film and media studies, documentary and experimental cinema, LGBTQ history and historiography, and queer and feminist theory. Greg.Youmans@wwu.edu
KATHLEEN YOUNG, Anthropology. Cross cultural gender roles. faculty.wwu.edu/kyoung/ Kathleen.Young@wwu.edu
SARAH ZARROW, History. Jewish women’s history and culture, gender and sexuality in Judaism. Sarah.Zarrow@wwu.edu
SARAH ZIMMERMAN, History. Africa, colonialism, women and gender. Sarah.Zimmerman@wwu.edu

 

Programs

    Undergraduate MajorUndergraduate Minor

    Courses

      Women, Gender & Sexuality Studies

      Courses numbered X37; X97; 300, 400 are described in the University Academic Policies  section of this catalog.

      Return to {$returnto_text} Return to: Departments