Mar 24, 2019  
2018-2019 University Catalog 
    
2018-2019 University Catalog

Women, Gender, and Sexuality Studies


Return to {$returnto_text} Return to: College of Humanities and Social Sciences

Women, Gender, and Sexuality Studies

chss.wwu.edu/wgss

The Women, Gender, and Sexuality Studies program offers students an interdisciplinary approach to the study of the formation of sex, gender, and sexuality as they intersect with structures of power including, but not limited to, race, class, ethnicity, nationality, religion, age, and ability.

Students who wish to declare a minor or major in Women, Gender, and Sexuality Studies are required to register with the Director. For program advisement, contact Vicki Hsueh, Director, Arntzen Hall 405 (Mail Stop 9082), 360-650-2649.

Participating Faculty

KRISTIN ANDERSON, Sociology. Gender and society, the family in society, domestic violence and the criminal justice system. Kristin.Anderson@wwu.edu
BIDISHA BISWAS, Political Science. Diaspora politics, international relations, ethnic and civic conflicts, terrorism. Bidisha.Biswas@wwu.edu
ANDREW BROWN, Performance Art, Fairhaven College. Performing gender and sexuality, queer of color critique, queer and trans performance and activism, transnational gender and sexuality, African gender and sexuality. Andrew.Brown@wwu.edu
JOSH CERRETTI, History and WGSS. Local and transnational feminisms, memory, trauma, and violence in wartime. Josh.Cerretti@wwu.edu
MARIA CHAVEZ, Anthropology. Latin America women with an emphasis on Central America women, Mayan indigenous women. Maria.Chavez@wwu.edu
ELIZABETH COLEN, English. Hybrid genres, experimental writing, ecopoetics, and literary collage. Elizabeth.Colen@wwu.edu
BARBARA COLLAMER, Psychology. Gender issues, learning and cognitive development, adolescent development. Barbara.Collamer@wwu.edu
SUSAN COSTANZO, History. Russian women’s history and culture. Susan.Costanzo@wwu.edu
SHIRIN DEYLAMI, Political Science. Feminist and queer theory; post-colonial and Islamic thought; and gender and Islam. Shirin.Deylami@wwu.edu
RAINE DOZIER, Health & Community Studies. Gender theory; sociology; social and economic inequality. Raine.Dozier@wwu.edu
JULIE DUGGER, English. Women writers, gender and genre, the romance novel. Julie.Dugger@wwu.edu
MARIE EATON, Fairhaven College. Lesbian/gay/bisexual/transgendered issues in education. Marie.Eaton@wwu.edu
LENA ERICKSEN, Psychology. Gender issues. Lena.Ericksen@wwu.edu
AMANDA EURICH, History. Gender, sexuality, and religion in early modern Europe. Amanda.Eurich@wwu.edu
ALLISON GIFFEN, English. Early 19th century American women writers and American women poets. Allison.Giffen@wwu.edu
CAROL GUESS, English. Queer Studies, Creative Writing. Carol.Guess@wwu.edu
JOYCE HAMMOND, Anthropology. Cross-cultural women studies, gender in visual media and popular culture, gender and body, women’s folk arts. faculty.wwu.edu/jhammond/ Joyce.Hammond@wwu.edu
PAM HARDMAN, English. Women’s literature, cultural studies, medical institutions’ treatment of women. Pam.Harden@wwu.edu
VICKI HSUEH, Political Science. Feminist political theory, political participation and gender, post-colonialism, ethnicity, and race. Vicki.Hsueh@wwu.edu
LAURA LAFFRADO, English. Early U.S. literature and culture, U.S. women’s writing, women’s autobiographical writing. news.wwu.edu/go/doc/1538/266053/ Laura.Laffrado@wwu.edu
JASON LIND, Communication Studies. Rhetoric, interpersonal communication. Jason.Lind@wwu.edu
ANNE LOBECK, English. Language and gender. myweb.facstaff.wwu.edu/annelob/ Anne.Lobeck@wwu.edu
JEN LOIS, Sociology. Social psychology, emotions, gender, qualitative methods. www.wwu.edu/soc/bios/lois.shtml Jennifer.Lois@wwu.edu
BAOZHEN LUO, Sociology. Family and life course, social gerontology, Asian/Asian American. Baozhen.Luo@wwu.edu
KELLY MAGEE, English. Creative Writing, lesbian/gay/bisexual/transgendered studies. Kelly.Magee@wwu.edu
MARY JANELL METZGER, English. Feminist theory, globalization, women and literature. Mary.Metzger@wwu.edu
BARBARA MILLER, Art History. Feminist art theory, contemporary women artists, and the representation of gender in modern and contemporary visual culture. Barbara.Miller@wwu.edu
KATE MILLER, Women, Gender, and Sexuality Studies. Introduction to Women Studies, lesbian/gay/bisexual/transgendered studies, creative writing, feminist theory. Kate.Miller@wwu.edu
CAROLYN NIELSEN, Journalism. Diversity, mass media and social change as it relates to women’s lives. Carolyn.Nielsen@wwu.edu
NANCY PAGH, English. Gender and Pacific Northwest regional studies, women and environments, women and space. Nancy.Pagh@wwu.edu
SUZANNE PAOLA, English. Creative writing, women and literature. Suzanne.Paola@wwu.edu
RACHEL PAUL, Political Science. Women and politics. Rachel.Paul@wwu.edu
TRACEY PYSCHER, Secondary Education. Social and cultural experiences of children and youth with histories of DV; school, critical literacy and learning, and praxis. Tracey.Psycher@wwu.edu
LYSA RIVERA, English. Chicano/a and African American literature and culture, science fiction, literature and cultura. Lysa.Rivera@wwu.edu
BARBARA ROFKAR, Women, Gender, and Sexuality Studies. Women and globalization, Peace studies. Barbara.Rofkar@wwu.edu
DEBRA J. SALAZAR, Political Science. Queer politics, social justice, social change, women and environmental politics. myweb.facstaff.wwu.edu/~salazard/ Debra.Salazar@wwu.edu
KATHY SAUNDERS, Anthropology. Gendered aspects of technoscience, reproduction and kinship, cross-cultural sex and gender. Kathleen.Saunders@wwu.edu
RAE LYNN A. SCHWARTZ-DUPRE, Communication. Rhetoric, mass media and postcolonial communication. RaeLynn.Schwartz-DuPre@wwu.edu
MICHAEL SLOUBER, Liberal Studies. South Asia history and culture, gender and sexuality. Michael.Slouber@wwu.edu
TAMARA SPIRA, Fairhaven/American Cultural Studies. Transnational, de-colonial, and critical race feminist theories and praxis; queer of color and transnational sexuality studies and feminist critiques of militarism, prisons, and empires. Tamara.Spira@wwu.edu
ANIKA TILLAND-STAFFORD, WGSS. Queer & feminist theory and methods, critical childhood studies, colonialism and North American history. Anika.Tilland-Stafford@wwu.edu
MIDORI TAKAGI, Fairhaven College. Race, class and gender, comparative studies of women of color. Midori.Takagi@wwu.edu
SHURLA THIBOU, Women, Gender, and Sexuality Studies. Introduction to Women Studies, women and globalization. Shurla.Thibou@wwu.edu
KATE TRUEBLOOD, English. Women and literature, creative writing. Kathryn.Trueblood@wwu.edu
CHRIS VARGAS, Art. Time-based art, queer radicalism, transgender history, and imperfect role models. Chris.Vargas@wwu.edu
VERONICA N. VELEZ, Education and Social Justice/Woodring and Fairhaven. Critical race theory and Latina.o critical theory in education, Chicana feminist epistemologies, politics of parent engagement in educational reform, particularly for Latina/o (im)migrant families, and participatory action and community-based modeals of research. Veronica.Velez@wwu.edu
THERESA WARBURTON, English. Contemporary women’s literature, Native literature, women of color and indigenous feminisms, feminist theory, anarchist studies, social justice. Theresa.Warburton@wwu.edu
SARA WEIR, Political Science. Social and health policy, women and politics, feminist political theory. chss.wwu.edu/political-science/political-science-faculty-sara-weir Sara.Weir@wwu.edu
CHRISTOPHER WISE, International Studies. Colonization/Post colonization and expected gender roles. Christopher.Wise@wwu.edu
JANE WONG, English. Creative writing, women of color in the literary arts, Asian American studies, digital humanities. Jane.Wong@wwu.edu
GREG YOUMANS, English. Film and media studies, documentary and experimental cinema, LGBTQ history and historiography, and queer and feminist theory. Greg.Youmans@wwu.edu
KATHLEEN YOUNG, Anthropology. Cross cultural gender roles. faculty.wwu.edu/kyoung/ Kathleen.Young@wwu.edu
SARAH ZARROW, History. Jewish women’s history and culture, gender and sexuality in Judaism. Sarah.Zarrow@wwu.edu
SARAH ZIMMERMAN, History. Africa, colonialism, women and gender. Sarah.Zimmerman@wwu.edu

 

Programs

    Undergraduate MajorUndergraduate Minor

    Courses

      Women, Gender & Sexuality Studies

      Courses numbered X37; X97; 300, 400 are described in the University Academic Policies  section of this catalog.

      Return to {$returnto_text} Return to: College of Humanities and Social Sciences